Question: Does Gradual Release apply to your classroom? What do you do to move students along the spectrum?

Answer: Gradual release absolutely applies to my classroom. I see a drastic need for it with my freshman Geometry students as well as my sophomore Algebra 1 (B-track) students. In fact, I feel that GRR is by far one of my most important jobs as a teacher. At the end of the day (or school year), it is my hope that I have empowered my students to be self-sufficient, motivated learners.

My Geometry students start out the year overwhelmed with the jump from junior high to high school. Here are just some of the challenges that they face:
  • High school math courses are faster paced.
  • Overall, the workload is significantly greater than in junior high.
  • Geometry is quite different than the math they are used to (i.e. 8th Grade Algebra).
  • The A and B track students are mixed together for this one year, so some B track students have trouble acclimating.
  • This is the first time they are really seeing the challenging CCSS/SBAC-type problems.

My Algebra 1B students are also confronted with challenges: 
  • The CCSS/SBAC problems require students to have a deeper understanding of the content -- memorizing procedures like many of them have become accustomed to is often not enough.
  • In general, they are not confident in their math abilities. They often do not believe they are capable of being successful on their own.

In the beginning of the year, I do a lot of direct instruction, and we usually attack difficult problems together. I do my best to model my thinking/problem-solving process and to incorporate as many student-driven ideas as possible. As I feel students are becoming a bit more comfortable, I start to ease away from whole class problem-solving and encourage small group and partner work. This really forces the students to generate their own ideas, while still having the security of not working alone. My goal by the end of the year is to have students comfortable at least attempting these difficult problems independently. It is critical that throughout the year a culture of safe risk-taking is developed. I always tell my students it’s okay to get a problem wrong, but it’s not okay not to try.

A friend and colleague of mine introduced me to the following phrases that help to ensure one is following the Gradual Release of Responsibility (GRR):
I do, you watch.
I do, you help.
You do, I help.
You do, I watch.
2/11/2014 10:54:56 pm

Neat post. I like how you start with the student challenges. The second to last paragraph has the most room for expansion. How does your direct instruction change? Are you explicit about the change with your students? Part of the GRR idea is that different students move through at different speeds - do you move your whole class along or differentiate?

Clear, coherent, content, consolidated: +
complete: see above!

Reply
Jill Knaus
4/21/2014 11:21:16 am

In my direct instruction, I do less and less for the students. My questions become broader, less leading, and are sometimes open-ended. Rather than laying out the procedures for students I drive my instruction off student input. This change happens naturally. I don't talk about the change because I feel that the students do a good job of adapting as we go.

I still am trying to figure out how to differentiate for the speed at which my students learn. Right now, I tend to keep the class together. I like the idea of allowing for different paces of learning, but I guess I haven't seen a realistic and manageable way to do so. Very open to ideas/suggestions!

Reply



Leave a Reply.