My goal for my end-of-course project is to develop a mini-unit plan on Constructions. The geometry teachers in my math department have decided to spend approximately four class periods (one hour each) on constructions, including a summative assessment. I would like to incorporate some hands-on constructions, but also involve some technology in the form of Geometer’s Sketchpad (this is what we have used in the past) or Geogebra. Here are my thoughts for a general outline:

Day One:
I would like the students to do some comparing of the different hands-on ways to do constructions. I found a great resource that asks students to compare the following: miras, patty paper, and compass/straight edge. I really like this idea! However, I might eliminate the patty paper to save a bit of time and because my students are already familiar with using the miras. I’ll have to give this some thought. After doing our comparisons, the students will work on various compass and straight edge constructions, keeping a bulleted list of their steps in sequential order.  I will model a couple at the start. Each student will be assigned a partner with a similar ability level. While the concept is still new, I like that students will be able to bounce ideas off of each other but that one person will hopefully not dominate the discussion.

Day Two:
This is going to be the Geometer’s Sketchpad/Geogebra day. I will need to spend some time going over the various functions in the program so that students will be able to take off and do some constructions on their own. I may create a short GS or GGB tutorial that repeats some of the constructions from the previous day as a warm-up. From there, I will have a self-paced activity that contains several new constructions. I’d like to research how to make my activity more creative than just having a list of constructions. One idea I have (that may or may not work) would be to have students take the shapes of their constructions and create some kind of picture out of them. (If students print their sketches, this might be something they can do at home.)

Day Three:
I’m not totally decided on what I would like to during this class period. I want to extend the students’ knowledge in an engaging way. Right now, the only idea I have is from Science vs. Magic. This constructions “game” does not allow the students to move to the next level without completing the construction on the current level (similar to a video game). However, with the range of abilities of the students in my classes, I may have to differentiate instruction and offer a couple of activities. I think some of my students would really struggle with this one without some extra support.

Day Four:
On the last day of the mini-unit, students will be given a summative assessment (probably a large quiz). I plan to spend the first half of the hour reviewing (perhaps going over the activities from Day Three) and the second half of the hour giving the assessment.

So that is a synopsis of what I've been tossing around in my head, but I have yet to start putting anything together. If anyone has some resources/activities to share, I would really appreciate it!
11/5/2013 05:05:26 am

Seems workable if quick by necessity. Could the assessment be a drawing that uses at least X constructions out of a list of Y possibles? Or a book explaining how to do the fundamentals? Or some of the construction with obstruction problems?

Reply



Leave a Reply.