Hello MTH 629 Classmates! This is my first year teaching at Jenison Public Schools. I have moved around a quite a bit for someone that has only been teaching for five years. My first year, I was teaching 8th grade math (Pre-Algebra, Algebra 1) at Mason County Central Middle School in Scottville, MI. Then I moved back to my hometown to teach math at Hamilton High School (Algebra 1, Geometry, Algebra 2). Now I am teaching at Jenison and hopefully am here to stay! In the mornings I teach Geometry A and Algebra 1B at the high school. I spend the rest of my day teaching Earth Science at the junior high. Any chance one of you might be able to collaborate with me for middle school science??! ;)

There are few new aspects to my job at Jenison that I still getting used to. Jenison is a very large school, and the math department is quite large -- 13 people
! It has been so nice having that many people working as a team and sharing resources. I really feel like we can divide and conquer.
Additionally, JPS is kind enough to provide us with substitutes a couple of times a year if we need to work on curriculum. With how hectic everyone's schedule is with coaching, kids, etc., this is extremely beneficial.

I have also been getting used to Jenison's different math tracks: A = upper-level students, B = struggling students, C = low-level/special ed students. As with any system, tracking has its pros and cons. I like that in the A-track classes, teaches are more able to challenge the high-end students without worrying about leaving anyone behind.
I like that struggling students are more likely to participate and less likely to feel embarrassed. However, in my B track class I think that without the high flyer students there to set the bar, many of them develop ever more of a sense of complacency or even apathy. The majority of them seem to have a fixed mindset. It is a frustrating to know how successful they could be if they really applied themselves. All in all, I think I like the tracking, as it best allows us to meet students where they are at.






Leave a Reply.